SMS Doctoral Educator’s Award


SMS-MEM Logo2b
The SMS Doctoral Educator’s Award recognizes those individuals who have made significant and sustained contributions to marketing doctoral education during their careers and who are (or have been) affiliated with SMS member institutions. Deserving recipients can be nominated by colleagues, students, or SMS institution administrators prior to each year’s SMS conference. A sub-committee of SMS program coordinators evaluates received nominations and makes recommendations to the collective SMS coordinator group for final action.  SMS Doctoral Educator award recipients are then recognized during the upcoming SMS conference.

Past recipients of the SMS Doctoral Educator’s Award:

2021 – Mike Brady (Florida State University)

University of Mississippi SMS Conference

2020 – Scot Burton (University of Arkansas) & Dan Sherrell (University of Memphis)

2019 – William C. Black (Louisiana State University)

University of Memphis SMS Conference

2016 – Sharon Beatty (University of Alabama)

Mississippi State University SMS Conference

2012 – John Mentzer (University of Tennessee)

University of Tennessee SMS Conference

2011 – William O. Bearden (University of South Carolina)

University of Mississippi SMS Conference

2010 – O.C. Ferrell (University of Memphis)

University of Memphis SMS Conference